Summer Candle Pruning for 2-needle pines, part 2: Making the Cut

I’ve been working on this pine for 6 seasons now, and documenting the work along the way here:

http://www.nebaribonsai.com/Nebari_Bonsai_112109/Projects_files/Candle-Cutting%20071011.pdf

Since the strength is fairly-well balanced right now, I decided to cut the candles all at once, and leave a small stub on the stronger shoots, and no stub on the weaker shoots.  I’ll update this as the tree begins to bud again.

 

One thought on “Summer Candle Pruning for 2-needle pines, part 2: Making the Cut

  1. Nice to follow along Brian! Both you and Peter Tea now have done a great job describing why and how to decandle. I decided to cut the candles on my JBP after I got the tree over adelgid. I’ve now got anywhere from 1-4 new buds already. I’ve got a plan now on the tree, but will wait till this winter to style it…I then can start using these techniques!

Leave a Reply

