Kurume Azalea: Through the Past, Quickly

I see a red bush and I want to prune it back…

I found this among some stones out of my front yard in 2000, potted it, and took it to a Ben Oki workshop a few years later in ’05. Now I call it my Ben Oki azalea.

In the ground in late ’00:
SCAN0120

In January ’02:

Coral Azalea 0102

It flew with me to Iowa to attend Ben Oki’s workshop in ’05:
Workshop Azalea before
Mr. Oki is on the right; balancing the strength of the branches by comparing leaf size, and keeping branches that were similar in strength.
Mr Oki and Brian (1)
After:
Azalea after workshop
His vision (and drawing….so cool!):

20130429-164024.jpg
Somehow, the right apex must have gotten bent back toward the left in packing or transit…and it stuck; never really noticed that until I compared these photos. Here it is back in Birmingham, repotted:
Repotted and Back Home (1)

Late ’06:

DSC06446

Spring ’07:

Ben Oki Azalea 2007 (1a)

Spring ’08, freshly repotted into straight Kanuma:

BenOki Azalea 08 (15)

Spring ’09:

Ben Oki Azalea 09 (0)

Spring ’10:

Ben Oki Azalea 10 (15)

Spring ’11:

Ben Oki Azalea 11 (2)

Spring ’12:

Azalea

And on the 7th year…it rested. I repotted it for the first time in 5 years, and removed all the flower buds to give it a little break.

20130429-191934.jpg

4 thoughts on “Kurume Azalea: Through the Past, Quickly

  1. Wow! I am not a flower kind of guy with bonsai. In fact, I ……………………………………………………………..! However, this works. As usual, your pictorial essay is inspirational.

Leave a Reply

