Mid-year Review

Thought it was time to update a few projects that have been written about over the last couple years.

First up is a Japanese Black Pine that Peter Warren started in 2011, and worked again on his return that fall. The development post is here.

20130622-071220.jpg

Next up, an Itoigawa Juniper, also worked initially with Peter Warren, and further with Bjorn when he was here this spring. We extended the Shari down the trunk, and defined a few primary branches. It’s still a little sparse, but has been filling in with mature foliage this year! The development post is here.

20130622-072133.jpg

Since we’re on junipers, here is another. This is a shimpaku I’ve been working on (or puzzling out) for the last 4.5 years. It’s good material, just unconventional. I worked on it for 3 years with Kathy Shaner, then this spring with Bjorn. I’m very happy with how it’s developed. Check out the humble beginnings here. Next year, a suitable pot!

20130622-074542.jpg

How about a pyracantha? The berries are covering this thing right now. Soon they will be a nice orange to compliment that beautiful Aiba Koyo pot. A look back is at this post.

20130622-074831.jpg

Next up, my ume. Not in bloom, just rangy as anything, and mostly dormant right now. I’ve written quite a bit about this tree as I’ve gotten to know it over the last few years. Most recently, this post.

20130622-075110.jpg

This ezo spruce has been a fun project, and very responsive to training. Presently, it’s job is to grow…as much as it wants. Maybe next fall it will get another haircut.

20130622-075744.jpg

Finally, a newer project, this Taihei corkbark black pine. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get the planting angle right without jeopardizing the roots, so it’s not oriented exactly as I intended, but with some wiring this fall, and potentially a minor repot next spring, it will be coming right along.

20130622-075421.jpg

6 thoughts on “Mid-year Review

  1. Howdy I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found
    you by error, while I was researching on Google for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round
    enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have
    saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  2. Admiring the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed
    information you provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while
    that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
    Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

  3. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your website and detailed information you offer.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information.
    Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

