Cake: Feeding the trees

I feed organic; let them eat cake…and fish. For the last 6-7 years, my recipe has become simple and the results have become predictable. I check the forecast to look for a few sunny days…then it’s time to get stinky!

From the kitchen:
Foil, pan spray, gloves, flour

20130504-162912.jpg

From Lowe’s:
Plant-tone 5-3-3, Maxicrop (or other micronutrient such as EcoVie), bucket and shovel for mixing

20130504-163041.jpg

Cover some plywood boards with aluminum foil, and spray the foil with pan spray.

Add the Plant-tone, a cup of flour, and micronutrients to the bucket. Add water and mix with a shovel until it is the consistency of oatmeal.

Press it out onto the greased foil so it’s 3/8″ or so thick (this is 2 bags of Plant-tone):

20130504-163600.jpg

Let it set up for a couple hours, then cut into 1″ or so squares:

20130504-163654.jpg

20130504-163707.jpg

After a day or two, I turn them out into my soil-sifting screens and gently turn them for the next few days until they’re dry:

20130509-172422.jpg

Then I store them dry in plastic tubs. This batch should last this season and next!

I use inorganic soil, and organic feed; I’ll apply approximately 1 cake for each 1.5-2″ of pot width (a 16″ pot gets 8-12 cakes) from April until October. Then, once a week I’ll hit everything with Neptune’s Harvest fish and seaweed, 2-3-1, mixing about 2 oz. per gallon. Stinky, but the trees go “The Distance”!

4 thoughts on “Cake: Feeding the trees

  1. Great post! I’ve been using little cups with holes driled to let the nutrients from my food (similar to your plant tone) through, but I think I’ll have to give this a try! I’ve thought about it before, but this is a great straght forward recipie. Thanks!

  2. did u use 1 one container of liquid seaweed per bag of planttone or did you use 1 container of seaweed for both bags? or does it even matter?
    thanks
    phil

Leave a Reply

