Quick update on Corkbark Japanese Black Pine, ‘Taihei’

Since we negotiated terms, this pine has grown better. I don’t decandle it in the summer, I don’t wire every branch, and I don’t repot it often. For it, the tree stays healthy and looks generally decent.

However, I do trim strong shoots, remove dead needles, and pull downward-hanging needles in the fall. Here are a few shots of the minimal work done, per our terms and conditions.

Before any work done on the tree in a year
Old dead needles pulled from the interior
A few downward-facing needles removed, along with a few strong shoots which were trimmed back to a more proximal bud.

And after the grueling 30 minutes of work:

Done for now.

In the spring, I may do a little more wiring in the upper right side of the tree…and I may not.

Obligatory snow shot, 1/3/22

This tree originally came from Dave DeWire, out in the Seattle area. Dave was a collector of corkbark JBP cultivars and freely shared his knowledge with me when I was obsessed with the different cultivars. Dave died in March 2021, and will be missed in the corkbark JBP corner of the bonsai world. RIP.

Photo credit: https://conifersociety.org/news/mainely-niwaki/

2 thoughts on “Quick update on Corkbark Japanese Black Pine, ‘Taihei’

  1. Brian, thanks for a great informative post. I have a design question. Above the primary and secondary branches is a noticeable gap in foliage. Would the design be better if you pulled the third and fourth branches lower and had smaller gaps in four places rather than two large gaps?

Leave a comment