Stewartia work

Here is a quick flashback on the last year.

Spring ‘23
Summer ‘23
Fall ‘23
Winter ‘23

So now we’re current. The tree bloomed last year, which was cool. The density is increasing nicely for 5 years in, and over time, I’ll continue to replace thick branches with thinner ones. First, clean up the bark with a dry soft toothbrush.

The shiny, smooth bark is like a refined crape myrtle.

I like the Reiho pot the tree is in; but it doesn’t photograph well. In person, the front foot isn’t as prominent, and the color is mellower and deeper than I’m able to express in a photo for some reason. Actually, it’s like a bluer version of a robin egg. However, I do feel the pot is a bit too smooth and refined for the smooth and refined tree.

Last fall I found this Shuho that I thought I’d try for a change. Shuho is a favorite potter of the Tokoname co-op, and this one is a rustic glaze with a little more aqua color, and it has a stable, flat stance.

We’ll see how that goes in a couple months. For now, a little pruning and it’s good to go until then.

A dark background highlights the profile, and white background can show branch detail better. Here is a side by side of the before and after. It’s a good way to identify branches that are too heavy and need to be reduced or removed.

And here is the shot of the work completed.

A little wire will help close the gap on the left side, and even out the spacing.

2 thoughts on “Stewartia work

  1. I have never seen one bloom myself. But I think the silhouette is my favorite view. I think it might look very interesting in black and white. Have you every taken any B&W photos of this tree?

  2. Hello Brian,
    First, I really like this tree and your presentation. Next, I think I need to add Stewartia to my bonsai collection. I strongly agree with your comments on the pot; my eyes keep getting drawn to its centered foot. With the alternative pot, I am not distracted at all and it’s a wonderful pot. I also thought a lot about the tree. My thoughts, not my necessarily my recommendations: 1. Have you considered removing the lowest left and right branches? The one on the right seems a bit to low, and the one on the left becomes more bar branchish. 2. The second lowest, small branch on the right might also go. 3. The large, somewhat too straight branch on the upper left side from which the apex branch seems to twist and turn might do with some shortening or some wire-induced twisting and turning of its own.

    Thanks for giving me a lot to think about while I wait out warmer weather here in Massachusetts. Other than planning, my major interaction with my trees is occasionally shoveling snow on them for insulating and moisturizing.

    Marc

Leave a comment